Skip to content

Keats Be Damned, I’m a Poet Too

January 30, 2010

Another tale of banishment
Of exile from this land
I’m coming back when next I can
Carve epics in the sand
So kill a poet, burn a bard
And all his works destroy
You can’t kill an idea, my friend
So sit back and enjoy

She came to me a-weeping loud
Ashaking and aquiver
I stood and held her, watching wary
Fending off a shiver
My eyes met his, her foe that time
He could not hold my gaze
I knew him well, his type at least
The memory yet stays

I won’t condone my actions then
I never had the need
I jumped upon him, smashed his face
And watched the bleeder bleed
“Come with me now,” she said, “come now”
I never stopped to think
Wound up on her loop of string
I’m led as horse to drink

“I’ll come with you,” my body said
“You picked me, I’m your guy”
I led, half-carried her away
No asking reasons why
“What’s your name?” she said – I told her
Bugger her reply
My head was rambling, mind aswirl
As payoff time drew nigh

“I want you,” said my body, “now
While it’s still not too late”
“I’m yours, I’m yours,” came her reply
And there she locked my fate
And down we fell, in nature’s bliss
As night drew into day
And into night again until
I touched her inner fey

These songs are popular all right
They punch below the belt
A piece of piss to write one, try it
Write down how you felt
Remember what it’s like when someone
Takes you for your worth
You know you’ll end up ridiculed
So make them pay for mirth

“She took me to her elfin grot
And there she wept and sighed full sore
Until I shut her wild, wild eyes
With kisses four.”
(thanks, Keats)

She cut me down and kicked me
And left me there for dead
Between my bones she’d thrust the blade
And watched the growing red
From way up high my self looked down
And watched my cruel defeat
Nothing more than fancy garb
And cooling, rotting meat

Another tale of banishment
Of exile from this land
I’m coming back when next I can
Carve epics in the sand
So kill a poet, burn a bard
And all his works destroy
You can’t kill an idea, my friend
So lie back and enjoy

2-Nov-1998

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 12:44 pm

    incredible.
    You have taken poetry to the next level here

Leave a Reply

